## THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF OTONABEE-SOUTH MONAGHAN

## BY-LAW NUMBER 2021-26

Being a By-law to prescribe a speed limit for motor vehicles on a highway portion within the Municipality

*Whereas* subsection 128(2) of the Highway Traffic Act, chapter H.B., R.S.O. 1990, as amended, authorizes the Council of a Municipality to prescribe by by-law a speed limit for motor vehicles driven on any highway or portion of highway under its jurisdiction;

**And Whereas** it is deemed expedient by Council to restrict the speed of motor vehicles on certain highways in the Corporation of the Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan;

*Now Therefore* Council of the Corporation of the Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan hereby enacts as follows:

 That when any highway or portion of highway set out below is marked in compliance with the regulations under the Highway Traffic Act, the maximum rate of speed thereon shall be as follows:

Road	Speed Limit	From	То
Dillon Road –	<b>60</b> km/hr	County Rd 35 (Keene Road)	Burnham Line
Travelling East			
Dillon Road –	<b>60</b> km/hr	Burnham Line	County Rd 35
Travelling West			(Keene Road)
<b>Campbelltown Road</b>	<b>40</b> km/hr	County Road 2	To south limit of
			Campbelltown Rd.
Baseline – Travelling	<b>60</b> km/hr	654 m west of County Road	County Road 35
East		35 (Keene Road)	(Keene Road)
Baseline – Travelling	<b>60</b> km/hr	Hiawatha Line	County Road 35
West			(Keene Road)

- 2. That the penalties provided in subsection 128(14) of the Highway Traffic Act shall apply to offences against this By-law.
- 3. That any designation made in section 1 shall not become effective until speed limit signs have been erected in accordance with the regulations of the Highway Traffic Act.
- 4. That only the reference to the speed reduction on Baseline contained in By-law 2006-38, section 1 be rescinded.

**And further** that this By-law shall come into force and take effect upon the enactment thereof.

Read a First time this 26<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2021.

Read a Second and Third time, signed and sealed with the Corporate Seal this 26<sup>th</sup> day of April A.D. 2021.

*\_\_\_\_\_Joe Taylor* Mayor – Joe Taylor

<u>Heather Scott</u> Clerk – Heather Scott